October 02, 2014, 10:23:38 AM
News: Hey, we have forums!
  Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5]
Print
Author Topic: Aquaria and Linux  (Read 39544 times)
Savior
Mini Bit
**
Posts: 3


View Profile
« Reply #60 on: April 30, 2010, 08:46:45 PM »

Hey guys, what's up with the Linux port? The beta was already quite playable, I figured it would have been finished by now. Most of the bugs we reported were about case differences in the file names, not something that requires an extensive amount of work. Please give us a hint when we can expect to return to Aquaria! Smiley
Logged
Alec
Administrator
Dream Bit
**********
Posts: 2210



View Profile Email
« Reply #61 on: May 01, 2010, 01:00:02 AM »

Soon, very soon... and in a kind of surprising way.  Cool
Logged

Xiagan
Global Moderator
Dream Bit
**********
Posts: 1452


"Does absolution lie above the waves?"

xiagan@gmail.com
View Profile
« Reply #62 on: May 02, 2010, 12:38:36 PM »

Soon, very soon... and in a kind of surprising way.  Cool

Sounds... great! Cheesy
Logged

"Sire, I had no need of that hypothesis." (Laplace)

~ www.xiagan.net ~
Elwro
Newbit
*
Posts: 1


View Profile
« Reply #63 on: May 05, 2010, 11:29:14 AM »

Hello! Unfortunately, the Aquaria Linux version I bought via the Humble Bundle does not run on my Ubuntu 9.10 i386 32bit with the official nVidia drivers. My resolution is 1440x900; when I run the game, the screen goes black with an "out of range" message. The only thing I can do is shut down Gnome.

Any pointers? Any logs you'd like my computer to create?
Logged
Bertram
Mini Bit
**
Posts: 4



View Profile
« Reply #64 on: May 05, 2010, 12:42:05 PM »

According to this:
http://www.linuxgames.com/archives/15150

Aquaria for Linux can be bought for a self-made price, along with other DRM-free games!

A must for me Smiley
Logged
Alec
Administrator
Dream Bit
**********
Posts: 2210



View Profile Email
« Reply #65 on: May 05, 2010, 02:57:02 PM »

Hello! Unfortunately, the Aquaria Linux version I bought via the Humble Bundle does not run on my Ubuntu 9.10 i386 32bit with the official nVidia drivers. My resolution is 1440x900; when I run the game, the screen goes black with an "out of range" message. The only thing I can do is shut down Gnome.

Any pointers? Any logs you'd like my computer to create?

Ryan has a bug tracker up somewheres....
Logged

Zhick
Newbit
*
Posts: 1


View Profile
« Reply #66 on: May 05, 2010, 03:50:05 PM »

Hello! Unfortunately, the Aquaria Linux version I bought via the Humble Bundle does not run on my Ubuntu 9.10 i386 32bit with the official nVidia drivers. My resolution is 1440x900; when I run the game, the screen goes black with an "out of range" message. The only thing I can do is shut down Gnome.

Any pointers? Any logs you'd like my computer to create?
Sounds like the game tries to set a resolution which your monitor doesn't support.
What does cat ~/.Aquaria/preferences/usersettings.xml | grep ScreenMode say?
Logged
Darksoul71
Newbit
*
Posts: 1


View Profile
« Reply #67 on: May 06, 2010, 08:06:39 PM »

Hi Elwro,

Hello! Unfortunately, the Aquaria Linux version I bought via the Humble Bundle does not run on my Ubuntu 9.10 i386 32bit with the official nVidia drivers. My resolution is 1440x900; when I run the game, the screen goes black with an "out of range" message. The only thing I can do is shut down Gnome.

Any pointers? Any logs you'd like my computer to create?
This behaviour is caused by the NVidia closed source driver and TwinView mode. This causes the graphic adapter to report wrong monitor refresh rates. Try to run xrandr and you see what I mean. It will most likely report rates as low as 50 Hz for your display.

Even if its german have a look at my posting over at ubuntuusers.de:
http://forum.ubuntuusers.de/topic/nvidia-propritaerer-treiber-19-lcd-falsche-re/

You may also refer to:
 https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/linux-restricted-modules-2.6.20/+bug/92599

The solution is to add the following line to the screen section within xorg.conf:
 Option "DynamicTwinView" "0"

This way the driver will report the correct refresh rates.

It's really strange that NVidia hasn't adressed this problem since it  maycauses problem with every native Linux game.

Cheers,
D$

Logged
beemer
Bit
***
Posts: 22


View Profile Email
« Reply #68 on: May 06, 2010, 08:46:27 PM »

One item for the Linux users I found:

I'm using Linux Mint (ubuntu) 9.04 and the sound was coming out with small 'pop' about every 5 seconds after I installed.  In the main Aquaria root, I found that renaming the *.so files to, for example, *.so-OLD solved the issue and the game's been running smooth as silk.

Thanks for this Alec!! Though I have to say I didn't buy the two copies I said I would....I bought three Smiley (one as a gift).

Beemer
Logged
hikingpete
Newbit
*
Posts: 1


View Profile Email
« Reply #69 on: May 14, 2010, 02:23:30 PM »

Soon, very soon... and in a kind of surprising way.  Cool

Wow! If it weren't for coming back to check this thread, I'd have been completely oblivious to the Humble Indie Bundle. I'm elated to finally be able to purchase a copy - even though it's not buying direct. Actually, I think that Humble Indie Bundle thing is awesome.

Thanks!
Logged
xseeks
Mini Bit
**
Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #70 on: June 01, 2010, 06:08:04 PM »

Hey Aquaria crew.  First I'd like to say that I appreciate you guys for porting your game to linux (we get precious few, though that might change in the future due to Steam), and furthermore for open-sourcing it.

However, I just got this game through the bundle (demoed it on Windows quite a while ago), and there is a problem.

When installing, it'll get to about 100%, but then I get this:

"NOTICE: Failed to install desktop menu item"

And then entire install reverts on me.  This is... frustrating, since everything else works just fine.  If I had to guess, I'd say the problem is I'm running Openbox and the installer expects Gnome or maybe KDE.

So... are there any arguments I can pass to make it ignore the whole "desktop menu" thing and just install?  Or to force the install regardless of errors?
« Last Edit: June 01, 2010, 06:12:03 PM by xseeks » Logged
GMMan
Giant Bit
******
Posts: 254


"Uh... I'll be right here after you're done..."


View Profile
« Reply #71 on: June 01, 2010, 06:53:36 PM »

Try the cheap method: When you get the error, copy the folder that Aquaria installed to somewhere else, and then allow the installer to revert. Then, move the folder back and manually add you desktop menu item.
Logged

Follow me on Twitter: @gmman_bzflag
xseeks
Mini Bit
**
Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #72 on: June 01, 2010, 07:17:46 PM »

Awesome, that worked, thanks.

...unfortunately there was another bug:

Inconsistency detected by ld.so: dl-open.c: 643: _dl_open: Assertion `_dl_debug_initialize (0, args.nsid)->r_state == RT_CONSISTENT' failed!


I'm not quite sure what this is all about, though initially I assumed it might mean I had something running that had... locked down a resource or something.  Turned out not to be the case.  Guess I'll just look around for a bug page and file this.
Logged
ChemBro
Newbit
*
Posts: 1


View Profile
« Reply #73 on: July 10, 2010, 01:34:05 PM »

Despite the fact, that I own a copy of Aquaria via "Humble Indie Bundle": How do you buy a copy of Aquaria for Linux specifically nowadays? I thought, Bit Blot would release the Linux version shortly after the humble indie bundle, but that was some time ago and the bundle sale lasted only for 10 days.

Any release date for an official Linux Aquaria release?
Logged
GMMan
Giant Bit
******
Posts: 254


"Uh... I'll be right here after you're done..."


View Profile
« Reply #74 on: July 10, 2010, 08:16:05 PM »

Despite the fact, that I own a copy of Aquaria via "Humble Indie Bundle": How do you buy a copy of Aquaria for Linux specifically nowadays? I thought, Bit Blot would release the Linux version shortly after the humble indie bundle, but that was some time ago and the bundle sale lasted only for 10 days.

Any release date for an official Linux Aquaria release?

You can't. However, I assume that there is some sort of schedule for releasing the Linux version.

(I think that Aquaria wouldn't have qualified for the Humble Indie Bundle if they didn't have a Linux beta at the time...)
Logged

Follow me on Twitter: @gmman_bzflag
  Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5]
Print
Jump to: