September 29, 2020, 04:54:32 PM
News: Hey, we have forums!
  Pages: 1 [2] 3
Print
Author Topic: Latest Aquaria builds for Windows [Updated 07/04/2011]  (Read 36186 times)
achurch
Bit Bit
****
Posts: 90


View Profile
« Reply #15 on: February 19, 2011, 01:30:04 AM »

Then exit Aquaria, and replace the first line in usersettings.xml with this:

<Version settingsVersion="1" />

Actually, I think you want to insert that line, not replace what's already there (which I think is <System>)?

@tannim: I think you told me you originally played Aquaria on a different machine. Have you tried it on the same machine as the new builds (with the original scripts, of course) to see whether it slows down as well?

EDIT: I just realized why the voices might be getting delayed -- the current code doesn't specify a channel count when setting up OpenAL, and apparently the OpenAL implementation for Windows defaults to a horrendously low number, which can cause sounds to get delayed until a previous sound (music, for example) stops playing. I'll see if I can whip up a quick patch for this.
« Last Edit: February 19, 2011, 01:37:08 AM by achurch » Logged
tannim
Bit
***
Posts: 19


View Profile Email
« Reply #16 on: February 19, 2011, 05:32:41 AM »

I have played the original version on both computers.  The original works fine on both equally, a little slower on the other computer actually.

I have not tried the updated builds on the other computer because it has a slower CPU, slower video, half the ram, slower hard drive.


@ron77hays: Is it ok if I post what here?
Logged
False.Genesis
Global Moderator
Super Bit
**********
Posts: 460


PRESS COMPILE FOR RAINBOWS

489981073
View Profile WWW
« Reply #17 on: February 19, 2011, 12:28:36 PM »

Hint: ron77hays is a spambot. a sneaky one too.

@tannim:
One note about OpenAL, it seems to work fine on some machines, on others not. For example, on my notebook where i have my dev environment (OpenAL SDK) and compile aquaria, my own 1.1.3 runs just fine. Copying that over to my other machine required me to install the OpenAL runtime there, and i had sound problems like you described (song notes & cutscenes not playing at all, or playing delayed).
Haven't yet found out what it is, if i do i'll let you know. Maybe another OpenAL runtime version.

achurch also posted a patch to the mailing list this night, adressing the sound problems on windows, but didn't yet have the time to try it out.

@GMMan:  is it ok for you if i join you posting compiled bins? Tongue

EDIT: Started hacking on the source a bit, seems like the windows version of OpenAL totally refuses to allocate more then 16 channels. In debug mode it dies because it fails the sanity checks in OpenALSystem::init, in release mode it works because the check is disabled. Still, no sound problems on my dev machine. (Using MSVC 9, current OpenAL SDK from creative labs, Win XP)
EDIT2: Forgot to say, using your psp branch with all the fixes, achurch. Including the channel count fix.
EDIT3: I'll make a fork on github within the next days, with fixes for windows + msvc.
EDIT4: Weird, 1 temp thread per played sound/music, do Linux/PSP that too? see image
« Last Edit: February 20, 2011, 02:49:44 AM by False.Genesis » Logged

GMMan
Giant Bit
******
Posts: 254


"Uh... I'll be right here after you're done..."


View Profile
« Reply #18 on: February 20, 2011, 11:36:10 PM »

@tannim: Sure, though I'm not sure where you would upload to. I want a centralized place where people can find builds. Maybe achurch can help us? It would help since I'm planning an updater of sorts. BTW, what dev environment are you using?

I've got a new Windows .rc made. Expect a release on Tuesday.
Logged

Follow me on Twitter: @gmman_bzflag
False.Genesis
Global Moderator
Super Bit
**********
Posts: 460


PRESS COMPILE FOR RAINBOWS

489981073
View Profile WWW
« Reply #19 on: February 21, 2011, 01:54:05 AM »

I still have sound problems on my other machine. Using some realtek onboard chip, maybe the drivers are bad.
The original (1.1.0, HiB one or that what you get from Plimus, they are 100% equal) uses FMODEX and not OpenAL, and with that i don't have problems either. So, that must be a problem with OpenAL, or the FmodOpenALBridge. Even copying the exact DLLs didn't solve the problem.
So the problem is either the sound driver, or the OpenAL implementation, imho.

Btw, a few times "FMODEX error: 1: Unknown error code" appears in both logs, on the machine where the sound is fine, and on the other one where it is not. (Tested in the scenes when finding, trapping, and binding Li). Need more testing here, and the log files could definitely use a timestamp...

@GMMan, what about a shared dropbox folder? I can host my builds on github, but i agree a central repo would be a better thing, probably.

@tannim: The builds you have sound problems with, do they play that bubbling sound (sfx/cache/titleaction.ogg) when you click on the buttons/crystal in the title screen? Mine does in about 10% of the times, otherwise it skips that sound. sfx/cache/menu-open.ogg is played in about 40% of the time, and sfx/cache/menu-close.ogg is played always (Tested by spamming the crystal and answering "No" all the time). Really strange.

EDIT: I blame OpenAL! The version by creative must be completely batshit. I got the win32 binary build from http://kcat.strangesoft.net/openal.html, renamed the DLL file to OpenAL32.dll, put it next to the Aquaria.exe, and it worked! 128 channels, no fuss, sound problems gone. Cool!
For convenience, i have mirrored the single DLL file: Download
Let me know if that solves your problem, tannim. Smiley
« Last Edit: February 21, 2011, 02:17:57 AM by False.Genesis » Logged

tannim
Bit
***
Posts: 19


View Profile Email
« Reply #20 on: February 21, 2011, 04:03:52 AM »

the new OpenAL32.dll file fixed both sound and game slowdown problems on the AChurch release of the game.  It appears fully playable now.

Audio is played at the correct time, including the title menu click sound and the two audio cues that were missed in the past.

The energy memory scene experienced no lag or slowing down either when I played through it.  I have not tested further as yet.

I'll try importing one of the old save games to see if those still work.
Logged
tannim
Bit
***
Posts: 19


View Profile Email
« Reply #21 on: February 21, 2011, 04:58:55 AM »

I did manage to crash the game trying to change key configuration in game.

First, I got the energy form, I hate clicking the mouse ENDLESSLY(please put in autofire for that form!)  I clicked Key 2 and set it to Z. I applied, then applied again, returned to game.  I fired for a little while with that key, then if I move, the key no longer makes her shoot.  If I go back into menu and back, it still won't shoot until I go all the way into config and apply the key again.

I cannot repeate the crash I got now that I am trying again though.  Strange.  It seemed to happen when I pressed escape when selecting the key or right clicked while selecting it.  The key config menu no longer worked for the keyboard until I clicked apply or cancel, no other buttons worked for the mouse either.  Other buttons stopped working completely in the game except for left mouse button.  I'm not sure if this was a problem in the original version or not.

I still have to run Aquaria.exe twice to get it to run though with AQConfig.exe gone
Logged
achurch
Bit Bit
****
Posts: 90


View Profile
« Reply #22 on: February 21, 2011, 11:45:33 AM »

@False.Genesis: Glad to hear there's at least one functional OpenAL library for Windows. (: BTW, 1 thread per sound is by design (they're Vorbis decoders).

@tannim: I have a vague recollection of accidentally desyncing the game while using key config menu once -- I think I got it into a state where the menu was closed but it was still waiting for key config input, or something like that. I haven't actually done much with that part of the code; it might be safest to exit all the way out of Aquaria after setting things the way you like, then starting up Aquaria.exe again.
Logged
Inyssius
Extra Bit
*****
Posts: 118


Duke Nukem Foreveresque


View Profile Email
« Reply #23 on: March 08, 2011, 01:54:41 PM »

Just found this thread and decided to try and install the AChurch Full version. I'm having a lot of trouble.

Problem one: I keep running into the version check issue where it overwrites your key config stuff with a bunch of zeroes. I tried adding "<Version settingsVersion="1" />" to my usersettings file, both before and after the <System> line, to no avail. Eventually I gave up, made a new copy of my original usersettings file, and renamed it "default-1.xml". That technically works; it still overwrites usersettings.xml every single time I start the game, but now it overwrites it with the actual data that should be in usersettings.xml instead of a string of zeroes.

Still, I'm pretty sure this is not the ideal solution. (Also--wasn't that bug supposed to have been fixed? Did I download the wrong version by mistake somehow?)

Problem two: Lag. I'm not getting any obvious sound issues, but I am getting an awful lot of slowdowns. OpenAl32.dll doesn't seem to make any impact on this.

What should I do?
Logged
tannim
Bit
***
Posts: 19


View Profile Email
« Reply #24 on: March 08, 2011, 10:32:01 PM »

Make sure the OpenAl32.dll is in the same directory as aquaria.exe.

Rename or delete the aqconfig.exe, copy your settings file to usersettings.xml

These two things worked for me, I didn't bother with the Version Settings thing.  I have no slowdown anymore and no corrupted settings.
Logged
Inyssius
Extra Bit
*****
Posts: 118


Duke Nukem Foreveresque


View Profile Email
« Reply #25 on: March 09, 2011, 03:11:15 PM »

Make sure the OpenAl32.dll is in the same directory as aquaria.exe.

Rename or delete the aqconfig.exe, copy your settings file to usersettings.xml

These two things worked for me, I didn't bother with the Version Settings thing.  I have no slowdown anymore and no corrupted settings.

Deleting aqconfig.exe solves problem one--thanks!--but the presence or absence of OpenAL32 still doesn't seem to have any effect on the slowdown.
Logged
tannim
Bit
***
Posts: 19


View Profile Email
« Reply #26 on: March 10, 2011, 03:23:12 AM »

Be sure to download the latest Video drivers for your video card and also latest drivers for your sound card.
Logged
Inyssius
Extra Bit
*****
Posts: 118


Duke Nukem Foreveresque


View Profile Email
« Reply #27 on: March 11, 2011, 05:25:40 PM »

Be sure to download the latest Video drivers for your video card and also latest drivers for your sound card.

Both were out of date--thank you for the tip--but updating them doesn't seem to have helped the lag.
Logged
GMMan
Giant Bit
******
Posts: 254


"Uh... I'll be right here after you're done..."


View Profile
« Reply #28 on: April 06, 2011, 03:42:59 PM »

New builds are up. FreeType is not built in, so make sure you copy freetype6.dll as well. Also, I've got the resource files prepared, but I'm still having trouble with it. It should be in the next build, if I can make it work properly.

Update: Dev build not working right. Will try to figure out. Gah!
« Last Edit: April 06, 2011, 04:15:32 PM by GMMan » Logged

Follow me on Twitter: @gmman_bzflag
GMMan
Giant Bit
******
Posts: 254


"Uh... I'll be right here after you're done..."


View Profile
« Reply #29 on: May 05, 2011, 03:51:40 PM »

Just realized something. Dev-C++ sucks. It's antiquated. Next build will certainly use something more up to date.
Logged

Follow me on Twitter: @gmman_bzflag
  Pages: 1 [2] 3
Print
Jump to: