April 21, 2014, 09:48:47 AM
News: Hey, we have forums!
  Pages: [1] 2 3 4
Print
Author Topic: Unofficial update packs! [OSEv1.000][26th June 2013]  (Read 15877 times)
False.Genesis
Global Moderator
Monster Bit
**********
Posts: 364


Rabid prototyping

489981073
View Profile WWW
« on: February 25, 2012, 08:51:45 PM »

Updates any 1.1.x to the lastest opensource version. Does not work with 1.0.x !!
If you need to upgrade an old 1.0.x installation, try this updater to create a working 1.1.1 (windows) version first, which you can then update further. Does not require a serial key afterwards!


Last update:    26th June 2013 - OpenSourceEdition v1.000


You can use these packs to crossgrade from one operating system to another -- for example, if you have Aquaria for windows but want to play it on a Mac, just copy the windows version to the Mac and apply the Mac update. For Windows/Linux, drop an updatepack into any other version and it should work. Ask if it doesn't.

Feel free to contact me on irc://irc.esper.net/bitblot if you need help with these updates; just enter a nickname, connect, and wait a few minutes or hours.


Windows:    zip (4.2 MB) | 7z (1.8 MB)

Copy all files from the update directory into your Aquaria directory, overwriting everything that already exists.
Your old 1.1.1 version from Plimus or the HiB will also work with the new data.

[Attention steam users!]
This was tested with the Steam version. If you are using Steam, do NOT just throw this into the game folder! Instead, make a copy of the game and apply the update to the copy, otherwise Steam may complain about changed files and whatnot. I didn't try what would happen.
Note that this update has no idea that Steam exists - so no Steam achievements - but the opensource version contains a replacement, so they are not completely gone. It's just not that fancy.
On the other hand, you get a portable game that can be run from a USB drive, and does not require Steam running in the background.

[How different is this from the steam version?]
Of course the steam overlay and such features do not exist outside of steam, but regarding the game's content, there is no difference.
As said above, only achievements are different: They do exist, albeit in a not so pretty variant as the steam ones.
But there are numerous improvements (gameplay & stability fixes, better gamepad/joystick control, überwidescreen support, positional sound, online mod downloader, etc etc.) that make this fine open source product superior!


Linux:    tar.gz (10.5 MB) | tar.xz (5.3 MB)

As for the windows version, copy the new files & replace already existing ones.
Before you do, make a copy of the original aquaria binary (name it aquaria_old or something), then apply the update. It will continue to work if you need to go back.
A launcher script is included that will select the correct build for your system (32 or 64 bits), and also update some files in ~./Aquaria/_mods.
If you prefer to use the binaries directly, you should update the mod scripts yourself. Otherwise the game will go haywire when you start one of the default mods.

[Attention steam users!]
The linux steam game data are located here: ~/.steam/steam/SteamApps/common/Aquaria/
As for the windows+steam version, copy this folder somewhere else and unpack the linux update into the copy (replace stuff that already exists).


Mac OSX:    dmg (10.6 MB)

For the Mac people I've made it easy. Open the dmg, start the updater app, and it will guide you through the process.
This works for both the Ambrosia version, and the one from the HiB.
Requires an Intel Mac with OSX 10.5 (theoretically 10.4, but haven't tested). Works fine on 10.5 (Leopard), 10.6 (Snow Leopard), and 10.7 (Lion).

[Attention Mountain Lion (OSX 10.8 ) users!]
Because Apple is locking down their platform more and more, Mountain Lion refuses to open packages from untrusted developers by default. (My packages are not signed and therefore untrusted.)
Click here for a guide about how to turn that off and change the setting to sane defaults. It's for another software but they have nice images that explain everything.


More info:

Read the included README file. (Online version)

Each pack contains a normal and a developer version, for modding. The developer version also has some cheats which can be enabled with Shift+Backspace (but be careful, some options in the menu crash the game!).

Do not use the dev version for regular playing, it might interrupt you with message boxes if it finds something fishy in the scripts.

In the Windows and Linux packs, the developer builds are readily available.
In the Mac version, open your 1.1.3+ app ("show package contents"), navigate to Contents/MacOS, rename the 'aquaria' binary to something else, and the 'aquaria_dev' binary to 'aquaria' -- If you want to use the dev version.

Disclaimer: No guarantees. I've done my best to make good stuff, but if they screw anything, it's not my problem. Use at your own risk.


Misc notes:

The updater app for OSX is a simple ugly Tcl/Tk script. In case of doubt, just open and read it.

The source code for these builds can be found at GitHub: https://github.com/fgenesis/Aquaria_clean

Looking for an older updatepack? Here's a list of all releases: http://fg.wzff.de/pub/aquaria/updatepacks/
« Last Edit: June 26, 2013, 12:44:14 PM by False.Genesis » Logged

Daxar
Bit
***
Posts: 28


OH NO! WHAT IS THIS DOS YOU SPEAK OF?


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2012, 10:32:57 PM »

+1. Good work, sir.
Logged

WAT
The best thing about UDP jokes is that I don’t care if you get them or not.
False.Genesis
Global Moderator
Monster Bit
**********
Posts: 364


Rabid prototyping

489981073
View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2012, 06:30:59 PM »

Update; uploaded new packs, edited first post.

Most important changes:
- Improved loading speed for skeletal entities, if multiple ones with the same skeletal exist on one map.
- Fix "tile dummy" error - usually appeared when dying in a mod after loading a saved game.
- Linux: Correctly load shots / particles in mods, even if the file name case is not correct.
- Fixed some things in the script interface that I have b0rked in the last release.
- Huggys will now follow through local warps (thx achurch).


EDIT: Known bug: Currents sometimes disappear after changing resolution or swapping between window/fullscreen mode. They are still there, just the graphics are not always there. Restarting the game after resolution change fixes this for now.
« Last Edit: March 18, 2012, 11:30:48 PM by False.Genesis » Logged

Gringamuyloca
Bit
***
Posts: 16


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2012, 09:07:52 PM »

This is so awesome!
Muchas Gracias!  Grin
Logged
False.Genesis
Global Moderator
Monster Bit
**********
Posts: 364


Rabid prototyping

489981073
View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: April 05, 2012, 06:30:46 PM »

Hotfix for the currents disappearing problem: http://fg.wzff.de/pub/aquaria/updatepacks/2012_03_17/Aqauria_hotfix_win32.zip
(Win32 exe only for now, can't make Linux/Mac builds where I am right now)
Logged

False.Genesis
Global Moderator
Monster Bit
**********
Posts: 364


Rabid prototyping

489981073
View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: May 19, 2012, 12:01:32 AM »

Uploaded new builds for all platforms; the currents fix is in and few other minor things.
« Last Edit: May 20, 2012, 01:20:46 AM by False.Genesis » Logged

Guy
Bit Bit
****
Posts: 60


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: May 25, 2012, 02:26:44 AM »

Thanks for providing this, just tried this out on Mac OS 10.7 and it works okay but is quite laggy compared to HIB release, seems to be to do with sound effects. I tried rebuilding with latest libogg and libvorbis but that didn't help.

For reference, fullscreen does not work if you build against the 10.7 SDK. Using an earlier SDK (as you have done) works fine.
Logged
False.Genesis
Global Moderator
Monster Bit
**********
Posts: 364


Rabid prototyping

489981073
View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: May 25, 2012, 02:42:55 AM »

I think  I know why, but this isn't a problem on win32 nor linux. It creates one thread per every little audio effect that is played, and kills it once the effect is done playing - This adds a lot of overhead. Totally forgot about it, I'll fix that with the next update. Thanks for pointing. (And as soon as that update is out, please tell me if things improved!)

Fyi, already using latest libogg/libvorbis, so rebuilding that isn't necessary.

I was building on 10.6 - good to know. Guess I'll keep that clunky VMware setup for a longer time, then Smiley
Logged

Guy
Bit Bit
****
Posts: 60


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: May 25, 2012, 03:11:07 AM »

Oops, I was comparing to the achurch repository regarding libogg/libvorbis. Thanks though, looking forward to the update. So there's no particular reason it's done that way? No bad things will happen if you change it?
[edit] Actually it looks like you've currently got libvorbis 1.3.2, which is now at 1.3.3 Tongue
« Last Edit: May 25, 2012, 03:12:59 AM by Guy » Logged
False.Genesis
Global Moderator
Monster Bit
**********
Posts: 364


Rabid prototyping

489981073
View Profile WWW
« Reply #9 on: May 25, 2012, 03:29:22 AM »

So there's no particular reason it's done that way? No bad things will happen if you change it?
[edit] Actually it looks like you've currently got libvorbis 1.3.2, which is now at 1.3.3 Tongue

It was done by achurch to reduce memory usage, and take load off the main thread (which does the rendering and everything else). Fyi, from what i know the same change I'm planning to do was done earlier to the iPad version, so it can't be wrong. Smiley
(And no, it's no problem at all to change it).

And if that makes you happy I'll update libvorbis as well, but I need some time because I'm also working to finally integrate that mod downloader stuff I was working on last year - in a shape that is a lot less hackish than it used to be.

EDIT: Do you have displaylists on by chance? The game runs about 3 times slower with displaylists on, on both my AMD/ATI and Nvidia cards. (Don't even want to think about how Intel would boggle, lol)
« Last Edit: May 25, 2012, 03:33:49 AM by False.Genesis » Logged

Guy
Bit Bit
****
Posts: 60


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: May 25, 2012, 03:34:58 AM »

Thanks Smiley. Is it a simple change that I could do myself?
Logged
False.Genesis
Global Moderator
Monster Bit
**********
Posts: 364


Rabid prototyping

489981073
View Profile WWW
« Reply #11 on: May 25, 2012, 03:39:17 AM »

Not so simple, but I will write you a PM with a patch or upload a hotfix when I got it done, ok?
(Git is a cool thing, i'm developing this additional stuff on another branch so I can simply go back, change the audio stuff, and then continue working on the new things again.)

Will give this a shot tomorrow JUST FOR YOU, long weekend yay Smiley
Logged

Guy
Bit Bit
****
Posts: 60


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: May 25, 2012, 04:12:13 AM »

Cool, thanks heaps. Don't know anything about displaylists sorry. How would I go about turning that off?
And no, I don't really care about libvorbis Wink
Logged
False.Genesis
Global Moderator
Monster Bit
**********
Posts: 364


Rabid prototyping

489981073
View Profile WWW
« Reply #13 on: May 25, 2012, 05:50:03 PM »

So, new builds are up.
- Less thread related stuttering when many sounds are playing
- Corrected a problem where animation/skin files would not be loaded properly on Linux.
- Better script warnings (only interesting for Lua hackers)
- Multilanguage patch by Henrik Holst is in, but not yet used.

==>win32 + Mac OSX: No need to upgrade unless there are problems or you like living on the edge.
==> Linux: You should upgrade!

Note that when I switched from many threads to one it *worked* the first time I ran it, and did *not* crash like it usually does. This makes me assume something is subtly wrong in the code, but i have no evidence, works totally fine on win32 & Linux. My paranoia probably Roll Eyes

Cool, thanks heaps. Don't know anything about displaylists sorry. How would I go about turning that off?

Explained in the readme Smiley
It's a config file setting (and off by default, but you never know. I think my first updates had it enabled because i forgot to take it out.)
« Last Edit: May 25, 2012, 05:53:47 PM by False.Genesis » Logged

Guy
Bit Bit
****
Posts: 60


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: May 26, 2012, 12:41:39 AM »

Thanks heaps for doing this! Unfortunately it didn't help anything Sad
Displaylists are off (I have nVidia graphics). What does this feature do anyway?
Logged
  Pages: [1] 2 3 4
Print
Jump to: